totem.jpg
totem.jpg

Senny camara

Song and Kora from Senegal

Music, with Senny Camara, is above all a story of strings. Those of her kora - traditionally reserved for men - which she has made an ally to fulfill herself as an artist, but also as a woman. Insubordinate, free and pugnacious, Senny Camara shares many points in common with her women-totems: Nina Simone, Joséphine Baker, Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie, but also the Guinean musician Mahawa Kouyaté, morello cherry and queen of the kora, who remains for her a real source of inspiration.

Today, Senny Camara unveils BOOLO, the unit in Wolof, a first EP which again proves that time bears fruit for those who know how to wait for the right season to pick them. In BOOLO, Senny Camara is authentic thanks to a supple voice, giving amplitude to his kora by combining it with Thierry Fournel's guitar, Bakary Diarra's flexibility on the balafon and Pierre's deep double bass. -Yves Le Jeune.

Sensitive strings according to which Senny Camara calls for balance, unity, living together and solidarity on “Boolo”. On “Dialé”, Senny sends his condolences to those whom migration too often deprives of a loved one. Senny sings love stronger than reason on “Yone wy” and the one we do not choose on “Bim Bam”, an intimate rereading of a traditional song, in the form of a mother-daughter conversation, to denounce forced marriage . Finally, “Talibé” underlines everyone's responsibility for the education of the youngest, pillars of change.

To watch
Senny Camara-BenedicteBos-web.jpeg
Booking

Artist based in France


Senny Camara /  singing, kora

Thierry Fournel  /  guitar

Bakary Diarra /  balafon

Honoré Kouadia /  percussion

Pierre Yves The Younger /  bass

1st EP "Senny Camara"  ( Nov 2020)
Social networks
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • SoundCloud - Black Circle

Senny Camara

Chant et Kora du Sénégal

La musique, chez Senny Camara, c'est avant tout une histoire de cordes. Celles de sa kora - traditionnellement réservée aux hommes - dont elle a su faire une alliée pour s’accomplir en tant qu’artiste, mais aussi en tant que femme. Insoumise, libre et pugnace, Senny Camara partage de nombreux points communs avec ses femmes-totems : Nina Simone, Joséphine Baker, Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie, mais aussi la musicienne guinéenne Mahawa Kouyaté, griotte et reine de la kora, qui demeure pour elle une véritable source d’inspiration.

Aujourd’hui, Senny Camara dévoile BOOLO, l’unité en wolof, un premier EP qui prouve encore que le temps porte ses fruits à qui sait attendre la bonne saison pour les cueillir. Dans BOOLO, Senny Camara se révèle authentique à la faveur d’une voix souple, donnant de l’amplitude à sa kora en la mariant à la guitare de Thierry Fournel, à la souplesse de Bakary Diarra au balafon et à la contrebasse profonde de Pierre-Yves Le Jeune.

Des cordes sensibles au gré desquelles Senny Camara appelle à l’équilibre, à l’unité, au vivre-ensemble et à la solidarité sur “Boolo”. Sur “Dialé”, Senny adresse ses condoléances à celles et ceux que la migration prive trop souvent d’un être cher. Senny chante l’amour plus fort que la raison sur “Yone wy” et celui qu’on ne choisit pas sur “Bim Bam”, relecture intime d'un morceau traditionnel, sous forme de conversation mère-fille, pour dénoncer le mariage forcé. “Talibé” enfin, souligne la responsabilité de tous.tes quant à l’éducation des plus jeunes, piliers du changement.

À regarder
Senny Camara-BenedicteBos-web.jpeg
Booking

Artiste basée en France


Senny Camara / chant, kora

Thierry Fournel / guitare

Bakary Diarra / balafon

Honoré Kouadia / percussions

Pierre Yves Le Jeune / contrebasse

1er EP "Senny Camara"  (Nov 2020)
Réseaux sociaux
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • SoundCloud - Black Circle
Prochaines dates

15/11/20 (16h) - Africolor - La P'tite Criée / Le Pré Saint-Gervais, France

19/11/20 (20h) - Africolor - Le Comptoir / Fontenay-sous-Bois, France

20/11/20 (20h) - Africolor - Le Plan / Ris-Orangis, France

24/11/20 (18h30) - Africolor - Micro Folies / Evry, France

25/11/20 (14h) - Africolor - Université Sorbonne / Bobigny, France

25/11/20 (18h) - Les Trois Baudets / Paris, France

02/12/20 (18h30) - Maison de quartier Pierre Sémard / Saint Denis, France

04/12/20(20h30) - Africolor - Maison Populaire / Montreuil, France

07/12/20 (19h) - Africolor - MAC / Créteil, France

10/12/20 (20h) - Africolor - Le 100ecs / Paris, France

11/12/20 (20h) - Africolor - Mains d’Oeuvres / Saint Ouen, France

30/05/21 - Biennale de danse contemporaine de Lyon / Lyon, France