Damily disque Ela La

Ela lia

In the semi-desert bush of Madagascar, the Tsapiky revives the desire for existence, it is the blood, the pulse of an arid land, it is the cement that unites bodies and souls, which guides to happiness, which makes the picnic in the solitude of immensities. Its origin would come from Africa, from the dawn of time. He is now electrified to scream even more. It is untamed music just as the South is indomitable, this land of free men, where this unique, joyful and faint-hearted sound resonates, coming to challenge infinite destitution. Cry of love steeped in tenderness and violence, repetitive act.
- Jean-Claude Mouyon (Extract from the Roman Vrac, Trilogy, Malagasy Library, 2007)

 

Press extracts  (contact us for the international press)

Pan African Music:  (December 2019 / The 100 best albums of the 2010s!)

"After his cassettes produced and recorded in Madagascar, Ela lia is the second disc of guitarist Damily and his four accomplices produced and recorded in France. Originally from the south of the island, Damily is a master of this game which consists of launching a musical train at full speed in the bush without the passengers, listeners or dancers ever knowing when it will stop. -western Malagasy, where you can hear the echoes of South African basses. Ela lia gives pride of place to this hectic rhythm (listen to the track "Nahoda"!) but also to ballads that highlight the deep and moving voices of his troop ".

-  Vladimir Cagnolari 

pam logo.jpeg

Lylo: "a joyfully salutary trance."

Lylo2 logo.png

Mondomix : "Damily? A broken, chopped groove, which would nevertheless make a one-legged dance"

Frootsmag: "They are the real deal, nothing watered down or smoothed out for european sensibilities"

fROOTS-logo-clear.png

Trad Mag: "This record is the fruit of humble and captivating work, always serious even if Damily likes the collective party. It is a dancing machine which wants to move in all virtuosity, while preserving its tradition and its musical independence. If you see Damily programmed in France, take advantage, it's a unique and rare moment. "

- Caroline Barray

Logo_Trad_Magazine.png

Damily disque Ela La

Ela lia

Dans le bush semi-désertique de Madagascar, le Tsapiky relance le désir d’existence, il est le sang, le pouls d’une terre aride, il est le ciment qui unit les corps et les âmes, qui guide au bonheur, qui fait la nique à la solitude des immensités. Son origine viendrait d’Afrique, de la nuit des temps. Il s’est aujourd’hui électrisé pour crier encore plus. C’est une musique indomptée tout comme est indomptable le Sud, cette terre des hommes libres, là où résonne ce son unique, joyeux et velléitaire, venu défier le dénuement infini. Cri d’amour pétri de tendresse et de violence, acte répétitif.
- Jean-Claude Mouyon (Extrait du Roman Vrac, Trilogie, Bibliothèque malgache, 2007)

 

Extraits de presse (nous contacter pour la presse internationale)

Pan African Music: (décembre 2019 / Les 100 meilleurs albums des années 2010 !)

"Après ses cassettes produites et enregistrées à Madagascar, Ela lia est le second disque du guitariste Damily et de ses quatre comparses produit et enregistré en France. Originaire du sud de l’île, Damily est passé maître de ce jeu qui consiste à lancer un train musical à toute vitesse dans la brousse sans que les passagers, auditeurs ou danseurs, sachent jamais quand il va s’arrêter. C’est le propre du tsapiky, un courant musical qui fait vrombir les nuits de Tuléar, le grand port du sud-ouest malgache, où l’on perçoit les échos des basses sud-africaines. Ela lia fait la part belle à ce rythme trépidant (écoutez le titre «Nahoda» !) mais aussi aux ballades qui mettent en valeur les voix profondes et émouvantes de sa troupe".

Vladimir Cagnolari  

pam logo.jpeg

Lylo: "une transe joyeusement salutaire."

Lylo2 logo.png

Mondomix: "Damily ? Un groove brisé, haché, qui ferait pourtant danser un unijambiste"

Frootsmag: "They are the real deal, nothing watered down or smoothed out for european sensibilities"

fROOTS-logo-clear.png

Trad Mag: "Ce disque est le fruit d'un travail humble et envoutant, toujours sérieux même si Damily aime la fête collective. C'est une machine à danser qui veut émouvoir en toute virtuosité, en conservant sa tradition et son indépendance musicale. Si vous voyez Damily programmé en France, profitez en, c'est un moment unique et rare."

- Caroline Barray

Logo_Trad_Magazine.png